top of page

2022 NIPCO Annual Meeting

NIPCO's 2022 Annual Meeting was conducted on Tuesday, April 5, 2022, at the Stoney Creek Hotel Rivers Bend Conference Center in Sioux City, Iowa


"Charging Forward" was this year's theme for NIPCO's 2022 Annual Meeting as 2021 operations provided a springboard for NIPCO’s future of service. With a vision for shaping service that will meet the needs of the next generation of cooperative membership, the NIPCO staff and directors undertook a strategic planning deep dive, continued its efforts to upgrade and replace infrastructure that is fifty years old or more, launched its innovative battery storage project, and introduced an electric vehicle into its transportation fleet.


Todd Telez

CEO & General Manager

Basin Electric Cooperative

Update on operations at Basin Electric Power Cooperative.

Jim Horan

Executive Director

Mid-West Electric Consumers Association

Mission and purpose of the organization as it advocates for and supports consumers of hydropower within the Missouri River basin. 

E Johns.jpg

Elaine Johns

President & CEO

Enervision, Inc.

Insight into blockchain technology and cryptocurrency and its impacts on utilities across the US. 

NIPCO Board of Director President Louis Reed's 2022 Address to Membership

NIPCO is CHARGING FORWARD. Not just the theme for NIPCO's 2022 Annual Meeting, but also a reflection of NIPCO's innovation and vision as we prepare for the next generation of service to our member cooperatives, as they power lives and empower the communities of western Iowa. Louis Reed, Director Representative from Western Iowa Power Cooperative, and President of the NIPCO Board of Directors speaks on the growth and opportunity created in 2021 by the NIPCO staff and directors who, despite a year full of challenges, never lost sight of ongoing operations that serve members through reliable power supply and delivery while keeping rates stable.

2021 Annual Report
Results of the NIPCO Director Reorganizational Meeting

April 5, 2022

  • President - Louis C. Reed (Western Iowa Power Cooperative)

  • Vice President - Ronald C. Steinhoff (Woodbury County Rural Electric Cooperative)

  • Treasurer - Thomas J. Wagner (North West Rural Electric Cooperative)

  • Secretary - Trent A. Will (Iowa Lakes Electric Cooperative)

  • Director - Dr. James R. Else, D.V.M. (WIMECA - Western Iowa Municipal Electric Cooperative Association)

  • Director - Bryan D. Greve (Nishnabotna Valley Rural Electric Cooperative)

  • Director - A. James Sharp (Harrison County Rural Electric Cooperative)

2022 NIPCO Annual Meeting Videos

Open and Voluntary Membership: Jasmine Salgado (WIPCO), Democratic Member Control: Trent Will (Iowa Lakes Electric Cooperative), Members' Economic Participation: Lyle Korver (North West REC), Autonomy and Independence: Matt Washburn (NIPCO), Education, Training, and Information: Angela Catton (NIPCO), Cooperation Among Cooperatives: Steve Harringa (NIPCO), Concern for Community: Jeremy Caroll (WIMECA - Manning Municipal Utilities)

Congratulations to NIPCO's 2022 N-Ovation Award Winners!

NIPCO's Board of Directors awarded two N-Ovation Awards (formerly known as the "N-Award") in 2022. The award symbolizes the recipient's time advancing the electric cooperative industry, NIPCO's G&T family, and NIPCO's operations, corporate mission, vision, and values. For 47 years, this honor has been bestowed to worth individuals for their outstanding contributions to NIPCO. Candidates are nominated and selected annually by the NIPCO Board of Directors.