top of page

NIPCO 2022 Annual Meeting Looks to Future of Service

Updated: Nov 22, 2022

"Charging Forward" was the theme for NIPCO's 2022 Annual Meeting, as 2021 operations provided a springboard for the cooperative's future of service. With a vision for shaping service for the next generation of cooperative membership, the NIPCO staff and directors undertook a strategic planning deep dive, continued its efforts to upgrade and replace aging infrastructure, launched its innovative battery storage project, and introduced an electric vehicle into its transportation fleet.

Following a video report from Board President Louis Reed, Treasurer Tom Wagner provided an overview of NIPCO's 2021 financial information. Meeting attendees also heard updates from Basin Electric Power Cooperative CEO and General Manager Todd Telesz, Executive Director of Mid-West Electric Consumers Association Executive Director Jim Horan, and NIPCO Executive Vice President and General Manager Matt Washburn. Closing keynote speaker Elaine Johns, President of Enervision, Inc., provided insight and information on data mining, cryptocurrency, and that industry's potential impact on the electric sector.

Photograph of Dr. James Else, D.V.M
Dr. James Else, D.V.M

NIPCO Board of Directors Reorganizes, Welcomes Dr. James Else, D.V.M. With the retirement of WIMECA Director and Board Secretary Bill Farmer, the cooperative municipal member nominated Dr. James Else, D.V.M., to serve as its Director Representative to the NIPCO Board of Directors.

Dr. Else graduated from Maple Valley High School in 1972 and enlisted in the United States Air Force, where he served as a radar operator from 1973 to 1977. In 1984, Dr. Else received his Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree from Iowa State University and served in practice at the Mapleton and Ute Veterinary Clinics until his retirement in 2018. Dr. Else has been active in local, state, and national organizations, including service on the Mapleton Fire Department, the Mapleton Electric Board, the City of Mapleton Board of Adjustments, the ISU Extension Experimental Farm Board, and the WIMECA Board since 2011. He and his wife, Crista, will celebrate their 35th wedding anniversary in June and have three sons and six grandchildren.

During the Reorganizational Meeting of the NIPCO Board of Directors, Director Louis Reed (WIPCO) was re-elected as President of the NIPCO Board of Directors. Directors Ron Steinhoff (Woodbury County Rural Electric Cooperative) was re-elected to the position of Vice President, and Director Tom Wagner (North West REC) was re-elected to the office of Treasurer. Director Trent Will (Iowa Lakes Electric Cooperative) will serve as Secretary to the NIPCO Board of Directors.

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page