top of page

2024 Annual Meeting Celebrates NIPCO's "Many Facets. One Mission."

NIPCO commemorated its 75th Anniversary of operations at its 2024 Annual Meeting, held on Tuesday, April 2nd, in Sioux City, Iowa. While NIPCO commemorated its historic journey, the meeting’s messaging centered on the path ahead to serve its members for generations to come. Meeting attendees included member cooperative staff and directors, partner organizations, legislative representatives, and several current and retired NIPCO employees.

Like carbon under pressure, NIPCO has evolved, transforming the heat of challenges into opportunities to shine. NIPCO’s journey has been one of resilience and adaptability, just as diamonds emerge from the depths of the Earth under intense pressure. NIPCO has weathered storms and overcome obstacles to provide reliable electricity to its members.

Video reports from Board President Louis Reed and Treasurer Tom Wagner were presented along with a series of video interviews featuring retired and current NIPCO employees who shared how their job roles have changed over the years. Meeting attendees also heard updates from Basin Electric Power Cooperative CEO & General Manager Todd Brickhouse, Executive Director of Mid-West Electric Consumers Association Jim Horan, and NIPCO Executive Vice President & General Manager Matt Washburn.

Closing keynote speaker, Dr. David Gattie, PhD, from the University of Georgia and the Center for International Trade & Security, focused on geopolitical and US national security implications of energy and energy technologies within the challenges of 21st-century power competition.

Brenda Lundergard, who serves as the director representative for Harrison County REC (HCREC), and Trent Will (ILEC), who serves as the director representative for Iowa Lakes Electric Cooperative, were both re-elected to serve three-year terms representing their cooperatives on the NIPCO Board of Directors.

During the Reorganizational Meeting of the NIPCO Board of Directors, Director Louis Reed (WIPCO) was re-elected President of the NIPCO Board of Directors, and Director Ron Steinhoff as Vice President.  Director Tom Wagner (North West REC) will continue as Treasurer, and Director Trent Will (Iowa Lakes Electric Cooperative) will continue to serve as Secretary to the NIPCO Board of Directors.

A copy of the 2024 Annual Report and video interviews can be found by visiting our Annual Meeting page on our website.

Extreme close up photo of the cover of the top annual report on a stack of other reports.
NIPCO 2023 Annual Reports distributed at the 2024 Annual Meeting.


bottom of page